Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

The one & only music award of the country - 'Smule Mirchi Music Awards' is in its 12th edition. Is the selection process truly authentic?

Last Updated: Feb 18, 2020, 03.58 PM IST
The 12th edition of the popular and coveted Smule Mirchi Music Awards is all set to showcase the best of the Hindi Music Industry on Feb 19, 2020 in Mumbai. Here’s the inside information...


Awarding and honouring artistic and technical excellence in Hindi music, Smule Mirchi Music Awards (MMA) is known for its tough selection processes and signature jury verdicts. On the 19th of February, 2020, every musician in India will hold her/his breath to know who will bag the winning titles. It’s a matter of sheer pride to win a title and then the limelight follows.

The awards this year will be given in 19 different categories. For evaluation, there were 800+ songs across film and non-film categories. Besides this, there will be three special awards viz. Lifetime Achievement, Outstanding contribution to Hindi music industry and Golden Era Album 1959, which are decided by the Grand Jury.

Prashant Panday, Managing Director & CEO of Radio Mirchi
Talking of the highlights, Prashant Panday, Managing Director & CEO of Radio Mirchi said, “It’s a proud feeling to be hosting the 12th edition of the MMA. Over the years, the awards have not only created a brand for themselves but also helped Mirchi build a very strong bond with the music fraternity. MMA is not only one of the most viewed award shows across all GECs but also is the most authentic one wherein the selection process is entirely regulated by music experts & certified by auditors, even I don’t know who is winning the Smule Mirchi Music Awards 2020 this year!”

The selection process has been very stringent so that truly the best singer holds the trophy. To make the rounds attain the highest excellence, jury members for screening and Grand Jury are entirely different. Each member provides their point of view of why the title holder deserves to move to the next round.

To add to the credibility, E&Y, which is a leading auditing firm has been the Process Advisors for MMA since its inception. They followed a set pattern of three-stage process for evaluating the entries received and facilitating winner determination:

Stage 1 – Design the awards process and review the list of Hindi movies released within the eligibility period. All the songs of the movies released within the eligibility period are considered for evaluation.

Stage 2 – An independent set of screening panel members evaluate the shortlisted entries to determine the top 15 in each category. The shortlisted songs are presented to the Grand jury members to determine top 5 finalists in each category.

Stage 3 – Top 5 finalists in each category are evaluated by the grand jury to determine winners in each category.

The E&Y Process, followed by the gruelling selection process of the Screening and Grand Jury members indeed makes the MMA one of the most authentic awards in the industry.

The Screening Jury included biggies namely:

1. Shruti Pathak
2. Abhishek Ray
3. Anand Sharma
4. Akbar Sami
5. Bishwadeep Chatterjee
6. Dominique
7. Nandini
8. Kavita Seth
9. Shibani Kashyap
10. Priya Sarayia
11. Humsika Iyer
12. Aaman Trikha
12. Manoj Muntashir
13. Mayur Puri
14. Bipin Aneja
15. Brayan
16. Shadab Faridi
17. Brijesh Sandiliyar
18. Antara Mitra
19. Jeetu Shankar
20. Bhoomi Trivedi
21. Paroma Das Gupta
22. Divya Kumar

The Screening Jury’s stringent selections were further approved by the Grand Jury including:

1. Kavita Krishnamurthy
2. Ila Arun
3. Vidya Shah
4. Ramesh Sippy
5. Sudhir Mishra
6. Dharmesh Darshan
7. Ahmad Khan
8. Suresh Wadkar
9. Sharvan Rathod
10. Millind Srivastava
11. Pritam
12. Louiz Banks
13. Lalit Pandit
14. Raju Singh
15. Sameer Anjaan
16. Irshad Kamil
17. Talat Aziz
18. Roop Kumar Rathod
19. Udit Narayan
20. Sujit Ojha
21. Vijay Dayal
22. Himmesh Reshammiya

To know more about the nominations, log on to www.mirchimusicawards.com and stay looped in for who walks the red carpet at the big event and who walks out with the trophy at the conclusion of the ceremony on Feb 19, 2020.

Indeed, the Winner Takes it All, on a song!

Disclaimer: This article has been produced on behalf of Radio Mirchi by Mediawire team.

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service