The Economic Times
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Rajinikanth, Kamal Haasan invited for PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony

The ceremony will be held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan at 7 pm on Thursday.

ET Online|
May 27, 2019, 05.41 PM IST
ET's dualpane - 2019-05-27T173415.653
PM Narendra Modi (L) and Rajinikanth with Kamal Haasan.
Invitations for the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his Council of Ministers are being rolled out. The ceremony will be held at the Rashtrapati Bhawan at 7 pm on May 30 (Thursday).

According to a Times Now report, actors-turned-politicians Kamal Haasan and Rajinikanth are among the first guests to have received the invitations. Both the Tamil superstars forayed into politics this season, with Haasan's political party, Makkal Needhi Maiam, contesting in the recent Tamil Nadu Assembly bypolls.

There have also been speculations about several world leaders being in attendance when Modi is sworn-in for a second consecutive term as PM, however there has been no official confirmation. Modi's 2014 swearing-in ceremony was attended by SAARC leaders, including the then-Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif.

President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers.

Political Dynasties That Survived 2019: Sons & Daughters Who Won

of 8
Play Slideshow

Welcome Back To Power

24 May, 2019
The 2019 Lok Sabha elections were high on drama, glamour and surprises. From celebrity debuts to unforeseen victories, the six-week-long democratic exercise and its consequent assessment had its share of headlines and newsmakers. While some political dynasties retained their position, many others experienced loss at the hands of newbies.One of the most shocking verdicts of the elections was BJP leader Smriti Irani's victory in Amethi against Congress president Rahul Gandhi. However, he still made it to the Lok Sabha by winning in Wayanad.Here's a round-up of all the political scions who brought home glory in these elections.

Also Read

Who will attend the swearing-in ceremony of Hemant Soren as Jharkhand CM

Mamata to attend swearing-in ceremony of Hemant Soren: TMC

Naveen Patnaik not to attend Modi's swearing-in ceremony

CM-designate Uddhav Thackeray meets Sharad Pawar ahead of swearing-in ceremony

Kin of BJP workers killed in Bengal to be at swearing-in ceremony

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.

Popular Categories

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service