Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

K Chandrashekar Rao takes oath as Telangana CM

KCR, as he is popularly known, is likely to expand his cabinet next week. The TRS retained power by winning 88 seats in the 119-member Assembly.

Updated: Dec 13, 2018, 03.14 PM IST
K Chandrasekhar Rao takes oath as the Chief Minister of Telangana
K Chandrasekhar Rao takes oath as the Chief Minister of Telangana
HYDERABAD: TRS president K Chandrashekar Rao, who led his party to a massive victory in the December 7 assembly elections, was sworn-in Thursday as the chief minister of Telangana for a second straight term.

KCR, as Rao is popularly known, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor E S L Narasimhan at a simple ceremony on the lawns of Raj Bhavan here.

Along with Rao, party MLC Mohammed Mehmood Ali, who was deputy chief minister in the previous TRS government, took oath as a minister.

Rao was unanimously elected leader of the TRS Legislature Party by the newly-elected MLAs Wednesday.

In the December 7 elections, the TRS won 88 seats in the 119-member assembly, trouncing the Congress-led 'Praja Kutami', which ended up with a tally of 21.

The BJP won just one seat in the state.

Also Read

No question of having any talks with agitating RTC employees: Telangana CM

Merger of 12 Congress MLAs with TRS as per constitutional norms: Telangana CM

Meeting with Telangana CM "a significant one": Pinarayi Vijayan

Telangana CM meets Karuna, holds talks with Stalin

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times Business News App for the Latest News in Business, Sensex, Stock Market Updates & More.

Other useful Links

Follow us on

Download et app

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service