Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Chhattisgarh polls: Raman Singh leads, five ministers trail

The five Brijmohan Agrawal (Raipur City South), Kedar Kashyap (Narayanpur constituency), Mahesh Gagda (Bijapur), Dayaldas Baghel (Nawagarh) and Amar Agrawal (Bilaspur) - are trailing, as per trends in the state Assembly polls.

Updated: Dec 11, 2018, 01.28 PM IST
However, state presidents of the BJP and the Congress - Dharamlal Kaushik and Bhupesh Baghel -were leading from Bilha and Patan seats respectively.
Raipur- Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh was leading by 1,200 votes over Congress nominee and former prime minister late Atal Bihari Vajpayee's niece Karuna Shukla in Rajnandgaon Assembly seat, as per the latest poll trends.

However, five ministers in Singh's cabinet were trailing after the end of fourth round of counting, a poll official said.

Three ministers were leading, he added.

State minister Rajesh Munat was behind Congress' Vikas Upadhyay in Raipur City West Assembly seat, Amar Agarwal was trailing behind Shailesh Pande of the Congress in Bilaspur segment, while Brij Mohan Agarwal was behind Congress' Kanhaiyya Agrawal in Raipur city south segment.

Besides, minister Kedarnath Kashyap was closely behind Narayan Kashyap of the Congress in Narayanpur segment while Dayal Das Baghel was trailing behind Congress' Gurudayal Singh Banjare in Navagarh segment.

Another minister Mahesh Gagdha was also trailing behind Congress' Vikram Mandavi in Bijapur segment.

Minister Prem Prakash Pandey was ahead of Congress candidate Devendra Yadav in Bhilainagar seat, while Lal Rajwade was leading over Ambika Singh Dev of the Congress in Bainkuthpur.

BJP minister Ajay Chandrakar was also leading over Laxmikanta Sahu of the Congress in Kurud seat, as per the latest trends.

Following is the party-wise position in the outgoing Assembly: BJP-49, Congress-39, BSP-one and Independent-one.

Also Read

Chhattisgarh government not to implement Nyay for now

Four Naxals surrender in Chhattisgarh

Chhattisgarh opens doors for private sector with tax sops

Two Naxals killed in encounter in Chhattisgarh

Seven Maoists killed in Chhattisgarh

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times Business News App for the Latest News in Business, Sensex, Stock Market Updates & More.

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service