Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Govt extends CBDT Chairman Mody's tenure

The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet headed by PM Modi has approved the re-appointment.

Updated: Aug 29, 2019, 03.24 PM IST
Tax random
NEW DELHI: The tenure of CBDT Chairman Pramod Chandra Mody has been extended by an year, a government order said on Thursday.

According to the order, the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC), headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has approved "re-appointment" of Mody for a period of one year.

Mody was to retire on August 31.

A 1982-batch Indian Revenue Service (Income Tax cadre) officer, Mody took over as the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) chief in February.

His appointment came after Sushil Chandra, the then CBDT chief, was appointed as an Election Commissioner.

The ACC in an another order appointed 1983-batch IRS officer Prabhash Shankar as a new member in the CBDT.

The other members are P K Dash, Akhilesh Ranjan and Neena Kumar.

There are still two vacancies in the Board.

While Dash and Kumar are holding additional charges apart from their regular duties, the CBDT chairman is holding the charge of investigations in an additional capacity.

The CBDT is headed by a chairman and can have a maximum of six members. It frames policy for the Income-Tax Department.
Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times Business News App for the Latest News in Business, Sensex, Stock Market Updates & More.

Other useful Links

Follow us on

Download et app

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service