Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Jolt to Akhilesh: As 3 more SP MLCs set to join BJP

All three were elected from the local bodies and their term expires on March 7, 2022.

Sep 19, 2019, 02.31 PM IST
Untitled design (68)
LUCKNOW: Three more Samajwadi Party (SP) members of the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council are likely to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) soon.

These three MLCs -- Ramesh Misra, Ravi Shankar Singh Pappu and C. P. Chand -- met Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath in Gorakhpur on Wednesday and discussed the matter.

All three were elected from the local bodies and their term expires on March 7, 2022.

Ramesh Misra belongs to Hamirpur, Ravi Shankar Singh Pappu is from Ballia and C. P. Chand is from Maharajganj.

Ravi Shankar Singh Pappu is the grandson of former Prime Minister Chandra Shekhar. His uncle, Neeraj Shekhar, has already resigned from SP and is in the BJP.

It is noteworthy that the BJP, at present, lacks a majority in the 100-member Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, where the Samajwadi Party has 55 members and the BJP only 21 and the BSP is left with 8 members.

The ruling party wants to firm up its strength in order to make the legislation process smooth.

A year ago, three SP MLCs - Yeshwant Singh, Bhukkal Nawab and Sarojini Agarwal - had quit the SP to join BJP. All three were again elected to the upper House, earlier this year.
Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times Business News App for the Latest News in Business, Sensex, Stock Market Updates & More.

Other useful Links

Follow us on

Download et app

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service