Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

NCP names 5 members for joint panel with Cong to prepare CMP

Deciding on a 'common minimum programme' (CMP) for the joint committee to be formed with Congress, the NCP headed by Ajit Pawar, has given five names of its members- its Maharashtra chief Jayant Patil, party veteran Chhagan Bhujbal, Mumbai unit pr...

Nov 13, 2019, 02.03 PM IST
Mumbai: The NCP on Wednesday named its five members for a joint committee to be formed with the Congress for deciding a 'common minimum programme' before their possible alliance with the Shiv Sena for government formation in Maharashtra.

NCP's legislature party head Ajit Pawar, its Maharashtra chief Jayant Patil, party veteran Chhagan Bhujbal, Mumbai unit president Nawab Malik and Leader of the Opposition in state Legislative Council Dhananjay Munde will be part of the committee.

The decision was taken at a meeting of NCP legislators at the Y B Chavan Centre here on Wednesday.

"The NCP has named the leaders to be part of the joint committee. The Congress will also name its members for the purpose," said a leader of the Sharad Pawar-led party.

The panel is being formed after NCP chief Sharad Pawar and senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel met here on Tuesday and expressed the need to have a common minimum programme (CMP) before working out the possibility of tying-up with the Shiv Sena.

The Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena contested the October 21 state Assembly polls in alliance with the BJP. But the two parties fell out over the Shiv Sena's demand of sharing the chief minister's post on rotational basis.

With President's rule imposed in Maharashtra on Tuesday, the NCP and Congress are holding parleys on whether they can have a tie-up with the Shiv Sena to form an alternative government in the state.

In the last month's polls to 288-member state Assembly, the BJP won 105 seats, followed by the Shiv Sena-56, the NCP-54 and the Congress-44.

Meanwhile, Sharad Pawar paid respects to late Maharashtra chief minister Vasant Patil by garlanding his photograph in the state Legislature premises here.
Senior NCP leaders and party MLAs were present on the occasion.

Also Read

No deputy CM for Congress, NCP gets most berths

Still with NCP; Uddhav will decide on induction: Ajit Pawar

I am in NCP, will remain in party: Ajit Pawar

NCP gives Ajit Pawar last chance

Maharashtra saga: Key NCP players in the Pawar game

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times Business News App for the Latest News in Business, Sensex, Stock Market Updates & More.

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service