Never miss a great news story!
Get instant notifications from Economic Times
AllowNot now

You can switch off notifications anytime using browser settings.
Stock Analysis, IPO, Mutual Funds, Bonds & More

Prominent defectors in BJP first list of 125; 12 MLAs denied tickets

After the BJP and Shiv Sena released their list of candidates, party workers in more than half a dozen seats were seen engaged in angry altercation.

, ET Bureau|
Oct 02, 2019, 08.37 AM IST
Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray with Aditya Thackrey.
MUMBAI: BJP’s first list of 125 candidates for the Maharashtra assembly polls has several former Congress and NCP leaders who recently crossed over to the party, apart from chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, senior leaders Sudhir Mungantiwar, Girish Mahajan and Chandrakant Patil. Considered the ‘eyes and ears’ of party president Amit Shah, Patil will contest his maiden election in Kothrud. Twelve legislators do not figure in the list Defectors fielded include Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, the opposition leader till a few months ago, ex-minister Harshvardhan Patil, Jaykumar Gore (all ex-Congress) Sandeep Naik, Vaibhav Pichad, Rana Jagjit Singh and Shivendra Bhosale (all ex-NCP). Most of the names in the list have the support of Fadnavis, reflecting his dominant status in the state unit.

The first list does not have the names of senior BJP leader Eknath Khadse, minister Vinod Tawde, former minister Prakash Mehta and Mumbai BJP MLA Raj Purohit. Khadse, who was facing allegations of corruption and misuse of office, had to resign in 2016. One of the senior-most state BJP leaders, he has been slamming and embarrassing the party and Fadnavis. He has filed his nomination although the party did not declare his name. He even asked his party workers whether they would stand by him if he is not given a party ticket.

Fadnavis’ personal assistant Abhimanyu Pawar has been given a ticket from Ausa. Another interesting development is that BJP MLA Haribhau Bagade, who is the assembly Speaker, has been given a ticket, despite him being 75 years old .

An hour after BJP’s announcement, the Shiv Sena too released its list of candidates. But it has released only 68 of the 124 names, to prevent a rebellion.

After the BJP and Shiv Sena released their list of candidates, party workers in more than half a dozen seats were seen engaged in angry altercation.

In Pune, Sena workers vowed not to work for the BJP as all the eights assembly seats there have been allocated to the BJP. BJP workers were angry in Magathane where Prakash Surve of Shiv Sena has been given a ticket. Shiv Sena cadres in Navi Mumbai were angry as the BJP was allotted the Belapur seat. Such scenes are being witnessed throughout Maharashtra. There were similar scenes in Nashik where the Sena has not been given any seat. In fact, in most urban centres, the Sena has not been given many seats.

Also Read

Disqualified MLAs get BJP tickets

Shiv Sena MLAs moved to hotel

Sharad Pawar to hold meeting of NCP MLAs in Mumbai

MLA’s citizenship revoked for hiding foreign visits

Uddhav Thackeray to meet MLAs on Friday to assuage concerns

Add Your Comments
Commenting feature is disabled in your country/region.
Download The Economic Times Business News App for the Latest News in Business, Sensex, Stock Market Updates & More.

Other useful Links

Follow us on

Download et app

Copyright © 2019 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service