Have you read these stories?

Apps to Hong Kong: The US-China feud has gone way past trade

The expectations are that threats and counter threats will only ratchet up further ahead of the US polls.

Legislative Council

08 July, 2020, 07:09 PM IST



China passes draft of controversial Hong Kong security law

China's legislature on Thursday passed a draft of a national security bill for Hong Kong that has been strongly criticized as undermining the semi-autonomous region's legal and political institutions.

Offenders in Hong Kong will not be sent to China for trial under new security law: Report

Chinese officials have clarified that those facing ...

Hong Kong outlaws insulting China's national anthem

The pro-democracy camp sees the anthem bill as an infringement of freedom of expression a...

  • Of the seven seats, the BJP is likely to win four seats, the Congress two and the JD(S) one seat given their strength in the assembly. The ruling BJP has 116 members excluding Speaker, Congress 68 and the JD(S) 34 members in the assembly.

    The Commission has directed the Karnataka chief secretary to depute a senior officer to ensure that the instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with during the elections.

    Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray is set to enter the Legislative Council unopposed as the Congress on Sunday announced that it would withdraw one of its two nominees for the May 21 elections to nine seats.

    Thackeray, who was sworn in on November 28 last year, has time till May 27 to get elected to the state legislature, failing which he will have to step down.

    Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, who was sworn in on November 28 last year, has time till May 27 to get elected to the state legislature, failing which he will have to step down. Maharashtra Governor B S Koshyari had requested the Election Commission on Thursday to declare polls for nine vacant seats to the state Legislative Council.

    The MLCs who joined the ruling party are Sanjay Prasad, Qamar Alam, Radhacharan Shah, Dilip Rai and Ranvijay Singh. “All these leaders wanted to come with us and have more than two-thirds majority,” JDUMP Lalan Singh told ET.

    Legal experts ET spoke to said the state government cannot draw and spend money from the exchequer since both legislative houses — assembly and council — were adjourned sine die without adopting the Appropriation Bill that authorises expenditure of government funds.

    Of late, the Congress has been making a pitch for having a say in the key decision-making process and inclusion in important meetings of the state government. Terming the Congress as the "third pillar" of the alliance government, the 'Saamana' claimed that the Shiv Sena has "sacrificed the most" in the tripartite set up.

    The move comes at a time when the Centre has raised red flags over the ‘high positives-low tests’ scenario in Telangana and sent a union health ministry team on Sunday to Hyderabad, which saw India’s second highest positive rate at 32.1% on June 23.

    Since Uddhav Thackeray is not a member of either house of the State Legislature, he needs to get elected to the the Council before May 27, 2020, the statement said. The Election Commission had withheld the election process for these nine seats due to the coronavirus crisis.

    Thackeray, who is not a member of either house of Maharashtra legislature, took oath as chief minister on November 28, 2019. Under the Constitution, he has to become member of the legislature by May 28, 2020. However, all elections were postponed due to the coronavirus epidemic, so the state cabinet on April 9 recommended that he be nominated to the Council from the governor's quota.

    Becoming a member of the legislature by May 27, when he completes six months as chief minister, is a constitutional requirement for Thackeray to retain his post. With elections to the legislative council postponed due to Covid-19 pandemic, the ruling alliance is doing all it can to make governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari comply with the state Cabinet resolution to nominate Thackeray to the council.

Load More...

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service