The Economic Times



Raghubar Das resigns, asked to continue till new govt is formed

The opposition JMM is all set to form the next government as ally Congress has already lent its support to him. Results of 37 seats of the total 81 have been declared so far. BJP has won in only 13, while the JMM/Congress/RJD alliance in 21 seats.

How Hemant Soren became the face of change against BJP’s Raghubar Das

JMM took on every policy of the BJP government. It effectively attacked...

It's my defeat, not of BJP: Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das on assembly poll trends

As per the latest trends available on the Election Commission w...

ET Prime Distribution
  • Das is seeking a sixth consecutive term from this seat. Rai was elected to the state assembly from the neighbouring seat — Jamshedpur West — in 2014. Interestingly, Rai was a minister in Das government in the state.

    Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das on Saturday appealed the voters, especially the youth, to vote for "new Jharkhand" and urged them to turn out in large numbers.

    The police had found materials such as banners, flags and pamphlets. According to the police, the strategy was to call a large number of people for the protests for which groups were made on social media websites and photos and videos were shared to incite people against the CAA as well as the NRC.

    Having suffered another jolt in the assembly elections, BJP, it appears, will have to rethink its strategy of imposing chief ministers who do not belong to any numerically dominant community or those who don’t enjoy a mass appeal.

    The Jharkhand results are crucial for the BJP in the middle of protest against CAA across the country. BJP started its campaign focused on development and by the last phase it completely shifted towards national issues such as CAB, NRC and Ram Temple. Right from PM Modi to Yogi Aditya Nath and other senior leaders, BJP spoke largely regarding the issues of CAB-NRC.

    Addressing a press conference, Soren, who is set to succeed BJP's Raghubar Das as the Chief Minister, thanked the people of the state for reposing their faith in the alliance which won 47 seats in 81-member Assembly.

    The All Jharkhand Student Union (AJSU), which won five seats in 2014 state polls and one LS seat in 2019 in alliance with BJP, contested 53 seats in this election. On a number of seats, AJSU has a face-off with BJP. However, the BJP didn’t put up a candidate against Sudesh Mahto in Silli.

    Ram Vichar Netam, party in-charge of Jharkhand, said: “The central leadership will soon take a call on the review meeting and it shall take place accordingly.” With its senior leaders losing the polls, there is talk of promoting a tribal leader within the party as former chief minister Arjun Munda is a Union minister.

    Parties are known to become complacent in their second term. This seems to be happening to BJP. It enacted the Citizenship (Amendment) Act, taking this controversial step at a time when the country is grappling with a serious economic slowdown.

    The Raghubar Das government's feat of providing a stable government that lasted a full five-year term in a state where chief ministers changed faster than seasons did not cut ice with the electorate which decided to repose faith in a coalition that fought over seats and broke up five years ago.

    The BJP is in power in the state and an alliance of opposition parties, mainly the Congress and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, is making a determined bid to oust the government headed by Raghubar Das. BJP had won 37 seats in the 2014 Jharkhand polls and got past the majority mark in the Assembly as a number of MLAs from other parties joined it.

    The Jharkhand experience has highlighted the need to be more receptive to the voices from local units, especially in states where the party is in power, sources said, adding that the BJP may have lost some seats in Maharashtra as well by denying tickets to several regional bigwigs not seen well disposed to the then chief minister Devendra Fadnavis.

Load More...

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service