Have you read these stories?

Why it’s time for India to rethink its inflation target regime

Is inflation targeting right for India, and does it focus on the right target?
The Economic Times



West Bengal: After win in by-polls, TMC workers ‘capture’ 4 BJP offices and paint them green

After sweeping the by-polls in West Bengal, work...

BJP to field 13 disqualified MLAs in crucial December 5 bypolls

The party sources say that the central leadership and the RSS is not keen to ...

Politics of arrogance won't work, people have rejected BJP: Mamata on by-poll trends

After the Trinamool Congress (TMC) won the Kaliaganj Ass...

ET Prime Distribution
  • Hailing the top court order, BJP state president Nalin Kumar Kateel said already the election date has been announced and the party would convene a meeting to discuss the future course of action.

    The Supreme Court on Wednesday upheld the disqualification of 17 Karnataka MLAs belonging to the Congress (14) and the Janata Dal-Secular (3...

    The court upheld the Speaker's disqualification, but clarified that it will be till their re-election and not till the end of the term of the House as he had ruled. If elected in bypolls, these disqualified Karnataka MLAs can become ministers or hold public office. "We do not appreciate the manner in which the petitioners came to the court," the judge remarked.

    Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) has nominated its Rajya Sabha candidate Arun Singh who is currently the BJP general secretary. The party also nominated Congress rebel K C Ramamurthy as its candidate from Karnataka.

    Disgruntled BJP leaders say that they have nurtured their respective constituencies for long, but the BJP is now planning to reward the disqualified lawmakers with party tickets should the court verdict go in their favour. The Supreme Court will pronounce its verdict on the 17 disqualified MLAs on Wednesday.

    The Assembly by-elections are in progress in five seats of Bihar, four in Assam, three in Sikkim, one each in Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Meghalaya respectively.

    Senior BJP leader and party's candidate for Karimpur Assembly by-poll Jay Prakash Majumdar was on Monday allegedly beaten up by TMC activist...

    Amidst tight security, people stood in long queues before polling booths under Kharagpur Sadar, Kaliaganj and Karimpur constituencies since morning to cast their votes. Two of the three Assembly constituencies - Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur - fell vacant post general election as the sitting MLAs contested and won Lok Sabha seats.

    Senior Advocate Mukul Rohatgi, appearing for the disqualified MLAs, mentioned the matter and said that the bypolls for the Assembly seats are scheduled on December 5 and candidates are required to file their nomination papers between November 11 and November 18.

    The recent statements of JD(S) chief HD Deve Gowda and his son HD Kumaraswamy taking a soft stand on chief minister BS Yediyurappa, has led to speculation that the two political rivals may patch up and come together.

    A lot depends on the outcome of the byelection for the Congress and the JD(S). Siddaramaiah, who is also the leader of the Opposition, is performing largely a one-man show, fielding barbs from both BJP and JD(S), and silently suffering the non-cooperation from senior leaders in the party.

    West Bengal BJP chief said that Mamata's 'Didi Ke Bolo' program is an eyewash. He further added that neither Bengal CM's MLAs nor she is accessible to the public. There is so much corruption. Wherever they go, people hound them, holding them by their collars and asking them to return the ‘cut money’. TMC leaders even took ‘cut money’ for PM Awas Yojana.

Load More...

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service