Have you read these stories?

India chalks out virus war plan as clusters threaten to spill over

The containment strategy would contain the disease within a defined geographic area by early detection.

lok saha election results

05 April, 2020, 03:57 AM IST



Patparganj election results 2020: Manish Sisodia wins

Patparganj assembly constituency has been a part of East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency since 1993, and remained so after the delimitation of 2008.

Kalkaji election results: AAP's Atishi wins in her debut Assembly polls

Atishi, one of the most popular faces of the Aam Aadmi Party, won aga...

Delhi Election Results Highlights: AAP sweeps polls with 62 seats

Arvind Kejriwal led the Aam Aadmi Party almost replicated the AAP's fairy-t...

  • Aam Aadmi Party’s victory has given a new lease of life to the idea of ‘alternative politics’ that CM Arvind Kejriwal has tried to woo the voters with since its birth as an offshoot of the Anna Hazare movement.

    Chidambaram replied that distribution of money "are imaginary and there is no evidence at all." The veteran congress leader was cross-examined by counsel for the losing candidate Raja Kannappan who filed the petition challenging his election alleging that the congress leader was involved in cash distribution to voters and misused his power.

    People didn't just recognise AAP's work, but also rewarded it with their votes. That is a significant shift.

    Neerja Chowdhury said since Delhi is the country’s capital, its influence goes way beyond.

    In his weekly column in Sena mouthpiece 'Saamana', its executive editor and senior Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut said the Delhi assembly results showed PM Modi and Amit Shah are not invincible. He also criticised BJP's "religion-centric" political strategy and lauded the developmental works of the Arvind Kejriwal-led Delhi government.

    Delhi voted for the AAP overwhelmingly a third time, giving the BJP a big shock after it had won all the seven parliamentary seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. With 62 seats, AAP accounted for 53.6% of votes, a tad less than its 54.3% record of 2015.

    Delhi’s practice of making a different choice in Lok Sabha and assembly saw Congress finishing second in 5 of the 7 seats that BJP swept just 9 months ago, pushing AAP to the third position.

    The PIL claimed that research showed discrepancies in EC’s voter turnout data and votes counted. The discrepancies ranged between 1% to 10% and amounted to 7,39,104 votes. The petition claimed that it wasn’t questioning the results but wanted EC to evolve a protocol and handle such situations in a transparent way.

    Amanatullah bags Okhla seat. Okhla is not the only anti- CAA protest site that voted for AAP. In northeast Delhi’s Seelampur, that witnessed large-scale violence at an anti CAA protest, and has a sit-in protest by women going on now, AAP’s Abdul Rehman defeated the BJP.

    Neerja Chowdhury, Political Commentator, says for the economic well being and the prosperity of the country, BJP should think about toning down its rhetoric, especially of the kind we saw in Delhi in the runup to the election.

    BJP-Shiv Sena alliance won an absolute majority in the Maharashtra assembly polls. Here are the highlights of the 2019 polls.

    Most TV news channels are showing a neck and neck fight so far with almost same leads for both BJP and Congress in the state.

Load More...

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service