Have you read these stories?

The hope for a tax cut fades further after new numbers emerge

As the Budget draws near, the odds for a personal income tax cut are becoming less and less likely.
The Economic Times



Some voters don't realise importance of right to exercise franchise: President Kovind

Addressing an event on National Voters' Day marking the establishment of the Election Commission in 1950, the President said from the very first general election to the 17th Lok Sabha polls held last year, voters have increased the credibility of Indian democracy all over the world.

Some voters do not realise importance of right to exercise franchise: President Kovind

Addressing the National Voters' Day event here to mark...

J&K Lt Governor Murmu urges locals to vote and contest in elections

Jammu, Jan 25 (ANI): Jammu and Kashmir Lt Governor GC Murmu attended Nati...

ET Prime Distribution
  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi expressed his gratitude towards the Election Commission for its efforts to make the electoral process more vibrant and participative, on the National Voters' Day. The Election Commission (EC) came into being on January 25, 1950, a day before India became a republic.

    There are around 30 seats where Purvanchal voters play an important role and, of these, 15 seats are dominated by them. AAP has nominated 13 Purvanchal-based leaders in this election, while BJP has named eight Purvanchal leaders among the 57 candidates it announced on Friday. Congress is much behind with only three in 54 candidates announced by the party.

    Fixing NBS rate for urea will encourage balanced use of urea and bring in efficiency in the fertiliser industry by infusing competition. The DCT is aimed at replacing the existing direct benefit transfer (DBT) system where farmers buy urea at subsidised price, which is almost one-third of the total cost.

    Taiwan leader Tsai Ing-wen has won a second term, signaling strong voter support for her tough stance against China.

    The nationwide NPR is to be held from April 1 to September 30 to record the ‘usual residents’.

    A total of 1.46 crore voters feature on the final electoral list for Delhi to cast their vote in the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections. Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Delhi Ranbir Singh said the final publication of voters list shows there are total 1,46,92,136 voters in Delhi including 80.55 lakh males and 66.35 lakh females.

    Former BJP spokesperson Praveen Prabhakar, who joined the National People's Party days before the commencement of the five-phase Assembly elections in the state secured least votes in Nala seat at 987. Ex-BJP chief whip Radhakrishna Kishore, who joined the AJSU Party after being denied a ticket, lost to BJP candidate Puspa Devi in Chattarpur constituency.

    ​​A bench of Chief Justice D N Patel and Justice C Hari Shankar said linking of accounts with social media platforms like Twitter, Facebook and WhatsApp, with Aadhaar, PAN or any other identity document requires framing of policies or amendment in existing laws by the central government and this exercise cannot be done by the court.

    The Shiv Sena also hit out at the BJP, with which it recently severed ties at the Centre and in Maharashtra, saying the Jharkhand Assembly poll trends show people are not buying the Amit Shah-led party's politics based on sentimental issues like the National Register of Citizens. It also said that the BJP needs to introspect on its performance in Jharkhand after Maharashtra.

    They replace Kansas City Fed president Esther George and Boston’s Eric Rosengren, hawks who both dissented against all three rate cuts this year.

    The counting of votes for 81 Jharkhand Assembly seats will begin today. According to the Election Commission of India, the approximate voter...

Load More...

Other useful Links

Copyright © 2020 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd. All rights reserved. For reprint rights: Times Syndication Service